Getting Mineralized Over an Amazing Weekend

I LOVE JUICING!
I have had a phenomenal weekend and a magical Monday. So Saturday was the third day of my juice feast I had planned to take break-fast Saturday night because we had been invited to a dinner party prior to deciding to juice feast and the hostess made raw food specifically for our family… so nice! During the day I enjoyed about 50 oz of fresh orange juice and lots of herbal tea. I am absolutely in love with fresh OJ. After watching a video by Jay "Juiceman" Kordich about the benefits of juicing our citrus fruits in a juicer rather than a citrus juicer my OJ has become a completely different drink. Mr. Kordich describes in this video that a citrus juicer breaks open the cells in the citrus fruit and releases the juice within, but if you peel just the colored peeling from the outside of the citrus fruit, leaving most of the white pith, and run the cirtus fruit through a juicer, you end up with a much more nutritious juice. You can see that video here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=633-YOorfi8.
 
The dinner party was really phenomenal. It was great to connect with so many kindred spirits in one place. I have met some wonderful people in Oklahoma City, but had yet to feel like we’d really hooked into a community. Now I know even more wonderful folks who are into natural living, homeschooling  and other things that are really close to my heart.
 
BECOMING MINERALIZED!
On Thursday, when I decided to begin my juice feast, I was just beginning my moon time (menstruation) for the month. After being on a raw food diet for some time my moon time has become very gentle and pretty short and light (about 1 1/2 days of flow and 1 day of spotting). One thing that does persist though is a monthly migraine headache. To give you a little history, as a teenager each month my moontime was long and painful. This persisted into my early twenties. I also have a long history with migraines. I can remember having debilitating headaches at age 7. As I became a vegetarian, then vegan, then raw vegan I still experienced persistent headaches. In the last few years I’ve noticed that my moontime, no matter how gentle will be accompanied by a severe headache. My husband, with wonderful timing, has been researching magnesium. He’s found that about 85% of Americans are deficient in this mineral. Unbeknownst to me, he had purchased magnesium oil and gel on our last trip to the health food store. On the first evening of my juice feast I experienced a severe migraine. This made sense to me as headaches often accompany detoxification. But the next morning I woke up with the same headache at the same intensity. My husband suggested that I rub magnesium oil on my forehead. I had often taken magnesium to soften my menstrual cramps and I even took it to relieve afterbirth pains after giving birth to my daughter so I knew it was a powerful muscle relaxant. I began to rub the magnesium oil into my temples and my headache became less and less severe. I then rubbed the gel all over my body. It burned a little, but my headache then was lessened by about 90%. I was amazed! Throughout the day it went away. Saturday evening, on my way to the dinner party I began to get another headache. As many of my friends can attest, when I begin to get a headache there is no turning back. Although headaches are a symptom of dehydration, I can drink a large bottle of water and still get the headache that’s on it’s way. I was really worried that we may have to leave the party as soon as we get there. When we got to our destination I drank a small glass of water and my headache immediately vanished! I had been rubbing magnesium gel on my body for a couple of days at that point and it was obviously working. My history with severe headaches and painful mestruation and the immediate relief I received when giving my body a big dose of magnesium leads me to believe I am one of those 85% of Americans deficient in this mineral. I cannot tell you how relieved I am to have found a solution. Keeping in mind the amount of people who experience regular migraine headaches, menstrual cramping and even very very painful birth and afterbirth, I wonder if a big dose of magnesium is a simple and overlooked solution for many of us. I absolutely LOVE this path of wellness and self-care.
 
MAGIC!
Even more magic happened today. Little One and I stopped at the store to purchase some things for the week and our upcoming trip to Massachusetts. After the cashier rang up our order I ran my bank card and it was denied- twice. I was really concerned because I knew I had just made a deposit so I asked the cashier to suspend our order so that I could call my bank. As I was on the phone with my bank another cashier began loading my items back into my cart. When I got off the phone the cashier loading my items told me that the woman behind me in line had paid for my order. It was a big order! Her only request was that I pay it forward. I was shocked, and so happy. I don’t even know what she looks like, and she didn’t leave her name or contact info. She anonymously did something amazing for me. WOW. 
 
Wishing you JOY beyond measure,
Asante
 
Leave a Reply

